Detecting clear air turbulence / thermals

I used to do gliding and one searches for thermals - columns of rising air.
But passenger planes need to avoid these.
Recently I was photographing and videoing hares in a field, but they were some distance away. The heat haze was very noticeable even at 9 am.
So I was wondering whether a pair of cameras, configured stereoscopically, with identical exposure / lens settings, set up to take pictures simultaneously, plus some image processing, could measure the shimmering?
In the case of a glider, they tend to fly below the clouds. The cameras could be set to look at a shallow downward slant. To image the ground.
Any thoughts?
Has anyone got experience of using two cameras with say a Raspberry Pi?
Or maybe two webcams and a laptop for initially checking the practicality of this idea.
I used OpenCV some years ago with a webcam. Has anyone used this or other recommendations?

An interesting idea, for sure. But I’ve no experience of using two cameras. I was going to say no experience of using even one, but I now dimly remember we own a pi-based wildlife camera, rather underused.

It looks quite difficult to get two cameras precisely synchronised. So I am wondering whether a single camera could do this, by analysing successive video frames.
The movement of the camera relative to the scene would need to be accounted for, and then the residual “movement” calculated. This residual being the changing density of the air. The thing that astronomers don’t want, but is the wanted signal in this case.

This may be of interest:

It mentions FLIR cameras. I had one some years ago but sent it back as the software was buggy as hell (can’t remember exactly what but they accepted it was a fault and took the return) it was also obscenely expensive for my purposes…

Thanks for that PJ.