Soldering Equipment Advice

Hi all!

I was just wondering if anyone would be able to offer any advice when it comes to soldering equipment? I’m looking to (eventually) put together my Makerbuino DIY game console, and replace some batteries in my old game cartridges. However, after spending two hours searching through Amazon and various review sites, I couldn’t really decide what soldering iron kit / station I should go for!

I’m a complete novice in this sort of thing, so I definitely don’t want to go for a professional multi-purpose station, but I don’t want just a cheap pencil iron either. Ideally, I have a budget of around £40-60, give or take a bit (is that even a realistic budget?). I’ve seen quite a few Chinese knockoffs on Amazon in this ballpark, and they seem to have mostly positive/mixed reviews (mixed due to their build quality, surprise surprise).

I’d also be interested in any accessories that you could recommend as well (protective mats, for example).

Here’s a thread from one of my favourite forums:
Which soldering iron?
and another:
De-Soldering Tool

Hmm, seems like that the users on that forum agree with my initial observation: avoid the Chinese knockoffs!

I did see the Hakko FX-888D soldering station mentioned everywhere, but I avoided it because it was out of my price range. I guess I’m either going to have to go for one of the Antex irons (which is more in my price range), or splash the cash and go for the Hakko one! Hmm…decisions decisions…