Thoughts on AI Implications for Software Development

Given my day job is software development, I keep a close eye on things which have an impact on what I do (or are likely to in the near future).

Previous learning about creating/using Machine Learning (ML) “AI” systems was around general useful things the technology could do & how

Increasingly, the number of tools which directly impact the software development process have been increasing & they’ve not come from the angle I was expecting.

Several years back, I was expecting some form of semantic code-search based on unit testing; the inputs and results of the code effectively define what it does, so searching within for relevant (& appropriately licensed) open source code-bases for code snippets (or libraries) matching what you need in terms of input interface and functional results.

So far, that’s not what’s happened. The increased performance of large language models (LLMs) as the size of the training dataset, the number of parameters & compute power applied, instead have resulted in a range of tools. This article (& supporting paper) discusses scaling pretty well:

When scaled up, LLMs appear to provide useful output (*) across a very wide range of applications. Be that writing styles, factual summaries and yes, even code generation, these models appear to have be very good at generating human-like output across topics/applications beyond the scope of most individual humans.

(*) though sometimes it’s coherent/convincing b/s rather than anything actually useful

Note: Personally, I don’t have a full grasp of the “Transformer” based architecture of the most prominent model types, but have looked at more basic word-embedding techniques to build maps of language inputs.

Code Generation